An Introduction

I felt it only fair that if I expect you all to read and trust what I say, that I should probably tell you a little bit about myself.

I was a happy and healthy young girl. I loved playing baseball, dancing, twirling baton, karate,  and playing soccer,  but I was all just a wee bit fat. About the age of ten my family (whom are all also fat) decided that I should go on a diet. Then around 11 a very concerned relative thought I should go on diet pills. That year I dropped from a size 20 to a size 4. I ate only a cup of vegetables and half a slice of no fat cheese. It was then that I was diagnosed with anorexia.  During my recovery my weight jumped up and down and there were minor setbacks and relapses, but  I came out on the other side healthy, happy, and still just a wee bit fat.

Coming to terms with my fat body was a daunting task. In fact all through high school I though there was no such thing as loving a FAT body. It wasn’t until I was in college that I stumbled across a book titled “Fat! SO?” by Marilyn Wann. That book changed my life. I began looking at the world around me a different way. More importantly, I began looking at myself a different way. Each morning when I woke up, I would pick one new thing I liked about myself, until suddenly I realized that I liked all of myself. This realization was only the beginning for me. I knew that it was my duty to help other women around the country to look at themselves differently.

My campaign started with a big sister program to help young women with eating disorders. After that program was up and running, I knew I wanted a local group that I could bounce ideas around with and mobilize so that we could really get some attention focused on this issue. This program became known as a the Body Beautiful Project. I woefully agreed to film the process with MTV, which in many ways was a disaster, but Hey at least it got people talking about these issues. The Body Beautiful Project is now a fully functioning, university funded club, with over 25 regular members! Which trust me, for Wittenberg is a lot of students lol.

Now, as I am leaving Wittenberg and persuing real life, I intend to keep pushing this issue to the forefront and open peoples minds to the idea that you  can be fat, healthy , and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

