I’m Alive!

Greetings after a long hiatus…

So, you may be looking at this blog and notice a tiny gap in the timeline. Hey! It’s only been two years since I posted.  I suppose I may owe readers an explanation. Here is the deal: after being accepted into graduate school my life got crazy. I worked more than full time hours, traveled at conferences, began working as a professional speaker, conducted research with human subjects, and wrote a thesis. As you can imagine, my days were a tad bit full. Oh and I forgot to mention that I moved 6 times! SIX! But, it’s alright. I now sit before you a Master of Arts, with a full time amazing job, and ready to start blogging yet again.

This blog post is going to give you a little bit of an update about my life and then we will get back on track talking about all of the glorious fat things that we love to talk about and challenging social norms and idea about body image, sexuality, and health. I have received numerous comments that have inspired me to respond and respond I shall. In the coming posts I will be talking about why I use the word FAT over more acceptable terms like plus size, fluffy, hefty, or plump. I will write a response to some of the posts from “concerned citizens” trying to “save me” from my fatness, and I will also be writing a ‘how to’ about starting your own body/size acceptance group or Body Beautiful Project Chapter at your school!

Now! On to the life update. I am now working full time at a large state institution in Ohio in the Multicultural Center. As a program coordinator I am developing educational programming, outreach, services, and essentially running an LGBTQ Center and could not be happier with my job. I get to work with amazing students who challenge me and inspire me on a daily basis. On the side, I have two other miniature careers, one being my photography (which was just featured in a show SQUEEEEEEEE), and the other being a professional speaker.

For the last two years, I have been making the rounds at different universities talking about body image and the media, eating disorders, and sexuality. I love this part of my life. I love going out and talking to college students and we always have a great time. I think in an ideal world I would be able to do this full time someday.  In a side note, if you would be interested in bringing me to your campus you can email me at roxiepatton@ymail.com. I can give you some pricing information and other info about the programs I offer.

So that has been the bulk of my life for the last few years.

And as a final response to all of you True Life fans. Patrick and I are still friends and he is currently becoming a ninja. Okay, maybe not a ninja, but he is studying Kung Fu in an intensive program. So we are both doing awesome sauce and going where we want in life. And I am grateful to have someone like him around.

2 thoughts on “I’m Alive!

  1. I’m glad you’re back!

    I, too, use the word “fat” instead of other words to cover it up. It’s just a word. It can’t hurt you. Although, I do like to use the term “voluptuous” and “curvacious” not because it somehow means I’m not fat, but, damn, they are sexy words!

    Can’t wait to see what stuff you write about! 😀

    • I love the word voluptuous, I can’t lie. It does feel very sexy just saying it. I’m cool with any identifier that a person likes to use, as long as it isn’t to cover up their fat but accent it. I feel like a sexy voluptuous rock star goddess 99% of the time. So I am cool with it!

Leave a Reply

